Joint house panel inspects City Hospitals Reviews patient care, related facilities


AMMU, May 26- The Joint House Committee on Medical Negligence (JHCMN) headed by its Chairman, Ghulam Nabi Monga today visited Government Hospital Sarwal, Government SMGS Hospital and Government Gandhi Nagar Hospital and took stock of patient care and related facilities at these health institutions.

The Committee members G.M. Saroori, Naresh Kumar Gupta, Ali Mohammed Dar, Firdous Ahmed Tak and Ramesh Arora were part of the visiting joint house committee.

At these hospitals, the Chairman and other members interacted with the staff and the patients and enquired about the facilities being provided to them.

The chairman directed doctors and para-medicos to extend their services with utmost zeal and dedication and uphold the dignity of this noble profession. He also appealed to the people to help the managements in maintaining discipline and cleanliness in these health institutions for their own benefit.

During their visit to these Government Hospitals, Committee members inspected OPDs, Labour Room and other sections.

At Gandhi Nagar Hospital, the Committee members visited Partograph section, Dialysis Section, Wards and other sections of the hospital.

Later, the Chairman along with other members chaired a review meeting of the Health Department and took stock of physical and financial achievements during the previous financial year.

The Committee was informed about number of registered patients in OPD, number of minor and major operation performed, deliveries, laboratory tests, X-rays, ultrasounds, ECG, besides other details during financial year 2017-18.

The Committee Members exhorted upon the Medical Superintendents and other stakeholders to share collective responsibility for the betterment of these hospitals. They stressed on the need for coordination between Chief Medical Officers, Medical Superintendents and para-medical staff for better results. The Minister said that health sector has made good achievements but a lot was yet to be done.

The committee members were accompanied by Principal Secretary Health and Medical Education Dr. Pawan Kotwal, Secretary Council Abdul Majid, Deputy Commissioner Jammu Kumar Rajeev Ranjan, Principal GMC Jammu Dr. Sunanda Raina, MD NHM Jammu Yashpal Sharma, Commissioner JMC Ramesh Kumar, Medical Superintendent Dara Singh, Arun Sharma, Raj Kumar, SEs, XENs and other concerned officers of Health Department attended the meeting.